Tuesday, May 6, 2008

I'm pretty sure this must be how Mussolini started out...

We’ve had a pretty eventful week here in NC. Joe was out of town in Trinidad and my mom stayed over to try and help me manage the kids – but on Wed. night she and Abby took a fall down our BRICK front steps. My mom got pretty banged up and Abby had to go get a CAT scan to make sure the bump on her head wasn’t serious – fortunately she’s fine – no worse for the wear and my mom is OK too. By some miracle my neighbors where home and outside, so Sheley drove me and Abby to the hospital and her husband Mike took Joey to play with their son who is the same age. Of course, this happened to be the ONE night that Sheley’s (my neighbor) mom and step-dad were in town on their way back to WV and I hogged them all with my medical disaster. Her parents were actually really nice and helped out my mom while we took care of everything else. I of course thanked them with the ever-appropriate gift of chocolate chip cookies and beer. JJ

Anyway, I turn to the actual topic of my post– the little fascist dictator that I seem to have spawned. I’m hoping this is just some exaggerated version of the terrible 2’s/3’s that we are experiencing, but as of late I’m starting to think that my sweet boy is possessed by the spirit of some fascist power-hungry demon. He seems to be under the impression that he should be able to do whatever he wants, whenever he wants and that we should all hop to immediately upon his issuing his latest order – or a huge meltdown is our punishment. He seems to have completely forgotten how to say please and thank you and has just started demanding things (i.e. “Get me a drink RIGHT NOW”) – needless to say he doesn’t get ANYTHING until he asks nicely, but that doesn’t seem to deter him. Anyway, I could go on and on with stories of his out-of-control bossiness (clearly inherited from his father JJ), but I’ll just provide you with a small sample of some of his latest decrees...

Joey: I’m an adult, you’re a child, I’m in charge.
Me/Joe: Noooo… we’re the adults, you’re the child and unless you plan to get a job and pay rent, we are in charge.

Joey (leaving his classroom at school): I shut the door so the kids don’t get out (he thinks he’s a teacher).

Joey (after having several toys taken for bad behavior): I put this toy up now because I’m not going to listen.

Seriously – what do you do when your child proactively takes his own toys away with full intentions of being bad?? Clearly we are not deterring him. I’m seriously thinking I need to look into military preschools. All he does is demand things and order everyone around. Between the constant bossiness, the still problematic drooling and the perpetual hand down the back of his pants, I fear he’s close to becoming “THAT kid”.

The other scary thought that occurred to me was that this is the child that is going to be responsible for caring for me in my old age. I can picture him now trying to put me in a home when I’m like 45 or something because I didn’t let him eat dessert for breakfast or something. I wouldn’t put attempting to get power of attorney past him by time he’s 8 or 9. I’m just hopeful that Abby will keep me out of the home… of course she’s so busy trying to eat paper these days that I doubt she’ll notice. The other day I laid her on our bed for literally 20 seconds while I ran into our closet to drop some clean clothes and by time I came out she’d managed to roll over to the Time Magazine that I’d left about a foot or so away from her and had already started chewing off the cover. She also likes to try to roll under the couch when I leave her on the living room floor on a blanket – I come back in and all I see is her head sticking out from under the couch. I literally can’t put the child down or she’s into something – and she’s not even crawling yet so this does NOT bode well. Of course, she always does it with a smile so it’s hard to be mad at her…

Well, I suppose I’ve rambled on enough for one day… Time to get back to my pathetic new couponing habit – Triple Coupons are coming up at Harris Teeter – the sad culmination of my existence these days…. J

No comments: